Credentials created by the enterprise administrator can be shared down to child (affiliated) sites attached to the enterprise. Enterprise administrators choose how much control you have over elements within the credential.
This article describes enterprise credentials from the point of view of child site administrators.
Enterprise administrators can find more information here: Using Credentials in an Enterprise Site.
- Required Data Elements: Start Date, Expiration Date, and/or Credential Number
- Alerts Created by the Enterprise
- Settings of Topics Created by the Enterprise
- Courses/Activities Added by the Enterprise
Enterprise administrators creating credentials will put the credential into a category, name it, add a description (optional) and choose what data elements are required: Start Date, Expiration Date, and/or Credential Number. These settings are controlled at the enterprise level and are not editable by child (affiliated) sites.
Alerts created by the enterprise administrator are visible to you, but are not editable.
Topics created by the enterprise administrator are visible, but you cannot edit the settings of the topic. You are also unable to remove courses/activities added to the topic at the enterprise level.
- View/Edit Settings (eg. pinning a credential to users' schedules, etc.)
- Grace Period Settings
- Auto Renewal Settings
Enterprise administrators are able to set defaults for View and Edit, Grace Period and Auto Renewal settings, however child sites are able to edit these settings to suit the needs of their own organization.
These 4 elements are on/off settings at the enterprise level for each individual enterprise-created credential.
- Manage Users: Add, remove and modify credentials assignments for users in your own site
Off: Only the enterprise administrators can control the credential assignments for users in your site
On: BOTH you and the enterprise administrators can control the credential for users in your site
- Add Alerts: Add your own alerts to the credential
Off: Only the enterprise administrators can add/remove/edit credential alerts
On: Enterprise administrators can add/remove/edit their own credential alerts AND you can add/remove edit your own credential alerts. Enterprise administrators cannot view/edit/remove alerts you create.
- Add Topics: Add, delete, manage your own topics, including adding and removing courses/activities to the topics you create
Off: Only the enterprise administrators can add/remove/edit credential topics
On: Enterprise administrators can add/remove/edit their own credential topics AND you can add/remove/edit your own credential topics, including adding courses/activities to your own topics. Enterprise administrators cannot edit or remove topics that you create and they are not viewable to them within Manage Credentials.
- Add Courses and Activities to Existing Topics: Add courses/activities to topics created by the enterprise
Off: Only the enterprise administrators can add/remove/edit courses/activities within topics created at the enterprise level.
On: Enterprise administrators can add/remove/edit courses/activities within topics they create AND you can add additional courses/activities to the topics they create. Note that this setting only applies to topics created at the enterprise level. If the Add Topics setting is enabled, you'll be able to control the courses/activities within topics you create, even if THIS setting is turned off.
Enterprise credentials behave the same as credentials you create when running reports in your site. Any credential data you can pull for your own credentials is also able to pulled for enterprise credentials you are using.
Enterprise administrators have access to the following credential reports within the enterprise site:
- Credentials - Completions
- Credentials - User Progress Summary
If you use a credential created by the enterprise, it's important to note that the enterprise administrators will be able to pull this data for your users. For instance, the User Progress Summary report will pull data for not only the topics created by the enterprise, but also for topics created by you. The same stands for the Credential - Completions report. Enterprise administrators can see all completion data for courses/activities they added AND courses/activities that you added.
If you're uncomfortable with enterprise administrators having access to this data, see the Copying section below.
You have the ability to copy enterprise credentials. The copy is 100% editable by you and enterprise administrators will not be able to view or report on user data for the credential. There is no difference between your copied credential and a custom credential you create from scratch in your site.
Note that if an enterprise administrator edits the original enterprise credential that you have copied, your copy will not receive the updates.
You cannot delete enterprise credentials. If you are given access to a credential, but do not want to see it in Manage Credentials, you must contact your enterprise administrator.
If an enterprise administrator has assigned an enterprise credential to one of your users and has not enabled the Manage Users setting, you must contact your enterprise administrator to remove the credential from the user if you do not want them to have it.