Follow

Manage Attendance

Administrators can manage the attendance for all events in their site. Supervisors with access to Add/Manage Events can manage attendance for any event they've created. Supervisors with access to Manage Attendance under the Events Created by Others sub-section can manage attendance for events others have created, but only for users that they oversee.

The Manage Attendance tab in an event is not available until 5 minutes before the event starts. When attendance becomes available, access to the Manage Enrollment tab is closed. For more information on managing enrollment, see the Manage Enrollment help article.

Recording Attendance

Platform managers recording attendance have several options. They can log attendance in the event itself, without creating completion records for enrollees. They can also create attendance records for the event (records appear in My History for the user and in completion reports as event completions) and/or use an existing activity to record attendance through Record Completions.

Saving Attendance Within an Event:

Platform managers with access can record enrolled users as attended or absent with the buttons available on the Manage Attendance tab.

  1. In Manage Events, click on the pencil icon next to the name of the event you want to manage OR click on the name of the event you want to manage and then click the Manage Attendance tab. This tab will show the users who were enrolled in the Event. If you are a supervisor, this list will only contain the enrolled users you oversee.
  2. Platform managers will also have the option of adding a 'walk in'. This is for users who were not enrolled in the event, but attended it. Adding a 'walk in' user will add this user to user list on the Manage Attendance tab.
  3. Click the Attended or Absent buttons next to the name of every enrolled user and click the Save button in the upper left. A modal will appear to give you the opportunity to review your list of attended or absent users. Click Confirm to finish.

Once attendance is recorded, platform managers can return to the event in Manage Events to view the attendance of this event.

If platform managers choose to add attendance records available in Generate Reports, they can follow one or both of the steps outlined below.

Creating an Event Completion Record:

Once attendance is saved (view steps above), platform managers have the option to Add Attendance Records by clicking the Add Attendance Records button.

Recording users as having attended an event will create a record of that event completion in My History for each user marked as attended. These records will appear in the Completions and Completions - Aggregate reports in Generate Reports.

Users marked as absent will not receive a record. However, platform managers with access can return to the event at any time to see a list of absent users in the Manage Attendance tab of the event.

Creating a Completion Record for the Event with an Activity:

To use a pre-existing activity to record event attendance, save the attendance list within an event (view steps above) and then click the Record Completions button. (Note that supervisors without access to the Record Completions feature will not see this button.)

The Record Completions button will link platform managers to the Record Completions feature. They will be able to choose an activity with which to record user attendance. Once the activity is selected, they will progress to the Choose Users step, which will have pre-selected all users marked as 'Attended' in the event. If you are a supervisor, this list will only contain the enrolled users you oversee. The platform manager can then continue to the Fill-in Data step of the feature.

Editing Attendance (Reset)

Resetting a user's attendance will bring back the Attended and Absent buttons, allowing you to make the correct selection. The reset button behaves differently, depending on your preferred method of attendance logging.

Saved Attendance Only: If you have saved an attendance list in an event, but opted to not create an attendance record or record a completion using an activity, resetting attendance will only effect the list saved in the event.

Added Attendance Records: If you have created attendance records from your saved attendance list, resetting attendance will delete the attendance record created for the user or users for whom you've reset attendance.

Recorded Activity Completion for Attended Users: The reset button has no effect on activity completions, only the saved attendance list within the activity itself. If you need to delete activity completion records, use the Delete Completions feature.

 

Please see the following links for more information about Events:

Events Overview

Create New Event

Hosting Web Events

Recording a Web Event

Creating An Assignment For An Event

Enrollment Report